Who Am I?

Who am I?
I’m a statistical Anomaly

An improbable aggregation of atoms formed in the fiery furnace of stars billions of years old
and possibly trillions of light years away,
All formed from a single point at the beginning of time.
spewed at a such high speeds that an aggregatiion like me is improbable,
yet here I am.

Atoms coming together billions of years later into the form that’s me.
On a pale blue dot called Earth right in the goldilocks zone around a mid-sized star on a spiral arm of a galaxy called milky way

After millions of years of evolution, after countless catastrophies, after a cold age,
after being hunted by animals and then taming the very same animals,
after living in caves, after walking thousands of miles from Africa,after epidemics, after wars, after economic crises.
Yet here I am.

In India, one of the 197 odd countries, divisions created by man to “better manage” himself
In one of the 29 states, in one of the 33 districtss in that state, through years of oppression, through floods and droughts
Yet here I am.

With my unique set of friends, “friends”, parents, relatives,
with people who love me and hate me.
A single man in the 7 billion strong ocean of humanity.
A result of a result of a relationship between two of those 7 billion humans.
This is me.

The lone survivor out of the millions of sperms that made it,
A collection of millions of molecules of nucleic acid, in one of the very few optimal configurations out of a googol of combinations,
bound so tight that is not yet achievable by humans.
A blob of biological matter,capable doing things that even it can’t explain,
walking, running, cycling and so on….

Feeling things like love, hate,misery,jealousy,gluttony,pride,pain,agony,joy,happiness,ecstasy.
Everything rolled into one, not making sense more often than not.
That’s me

Capable of imagining things that don’t exist
and having the skills to bring into reality
Or what we believe is reality.
Capable of measuring the heights of the towering mountains,
the mass of planets far away, the volume of water in all of the vast oceans,
distances ranging from microns to millions of light years.
Capable of doing wonderous things with just 1’s and 0’s
Creating theories of how I came about, and where I’m going
and being able to test them
All that and more is who I am

I don’t call myself an existentialist,factist would fit.
I just state the facts, sans the emotional icing that so very often facts come covered in.
guess, I can call myself lucky,
Lucky to be here, right now,when I could I have been anywhere, spanning the entire Universe.

And I have absolutely nothing to feel bad about,for that matter, no one does.
because I’ve always had the odds stacked against me,and yet I seemed to win every time
because the mere fact that I exist is wonderous
And in the eye-blink in the larger scheme of thing that I will be.
I must do everything to make sure,
that I won for a reason……..

Published by

gokul

Hi!, My name is Gokula Krishnan, you can (and I prefer) call me gokul. I'm a third year Computer Science major from BITS Pilani. I'm interested in Technology, Theoretical Computer Science and Discrete Mathematics. A FOSS enthusiast, I'm one of the founders of the BITS Firefox community. I'm currently working on Big Data Analytics, Machine learning and UNIX shell programming. My not-so-geeky hobbies include playing volleyball and football and origami

2 thoughts on “Who Am I?”

Leave a Reply

