Farewell Dehradun!

What do you do when you have 28 hours to do almost anything?
Sleep? Read a book?
Probably, if you were comfortable enough

So what is the best option?

Relive the memories, the wonderful experience that was Dehradun!

Never did the fact that PS 1 was over hit me until I got off the train at Delhi. Hot, crowded and bustling with activity, this concrete jungle was a huge contrast from the sights of the day before.

IMG1695

So here’s my two cents trying to capture the two months in as much detail as my memory serves me.

Most people say that you don’t learn anything in PS 1, I disagree.
Granted I didn’t learn as much as I wanted but you can’t expect to learn much in two months, can you?

Just a question, does mastering the puppy and dog bark count as learning?

I did know to swim, but I didn’t know I was this good a swimmer.
Hand-stands,back-flips,bunny hops, quadruple sommersaults  just a list of tricks I discovered I can do underwater.
Even giving a four hour crash course in swimming, I’m impressed with myself.

From a kid who gets nauseated after an earthquake to a guy developing a crowd sourced disaster reporting infrastructure,I did grow a lot ( metaphorically ofc 😉 )
IIRS was my fourth preference after BARC, IGCAR and TIFR. But now I think getting IIRS was the best “misfortune” I had in a long time.

I made a lot of friends, both human and otherwise.

IMG1458
Mickey and Roney

Fireflies!, how could I forget them? Dehradun was the first time I saw fireflies in real life. They seem to have an unearthly glow and I took to sitting outside most nights looking at them.

Just like any human settlement, Dehradun and neighbouring areas too had its own share of weirdness

IMG907
You need to filthy rich or a special type of stupid to buy this
IMG1602
Wasn’t smoking in public places prohibited?
IMG1604
sexist!!!
IMG922
Freemasons’ lodge just after getting down at mussoorie

 

10365809_10203407791829807_9070906675642337902_n
Even monks can’t resist the temptation of Cheese bites!
IMG1312
Shiv-ji taking a selfie
IMG1313
not too amused, eh?

IMG1345

IMG1226
I’ll pass the 300ml cock, thank you very much..

And finally, Wherever you go, the Birla family follows

1544973_10203407793269843_172103752407019942_n
sneaky one, this
IMG1239
clock tower fetish

The weekends were quite fun, the trips unforgettable

 

Mussoorie and dhanaulti, my first long trek.

IMG921
The city of Dehradun as seen from Mussoorie
IMG_6762
The first time I saw a snow-clad mountain, WOW!
IMG956
well said!

 

haridwar, rishikesh the usual tourist spots

IMG_20140601_144821
You shall not pass (the test cases) !
20140601_093118
Rishikesh
IMG1204
Haridwar

What startled me about Haridwar was religion’s ability to unite people, yet sadly it is used to do the exact opposite.

 

shastradhara, lacchiwala, robbers’ cave,  swimming spots

IMG_0423
lacchiwalla
IMG_20140614_104033
sahastradhara

 

santala devi temple, trek 2km up, climb up a ledge, jump down, run the 2km stretch downhill, done..

IMG1553

IMG_1593

IMG_1575

 

kurukul-gaon, isolated yet beautiful

IMG1635

IMG1668

IMG1663

Dehradun was no less beautiful

IMG_1148

IMG1687
That’s whats called a room with a view

My pics are not the best, but there’s only so much you can capture with 3 million pixels.
I guess the best things in life can never be captured.

<NOTE>

If there are some pics, they are probably from sid’s camera or other people’s phones

</NOTE>

 

Here are few people who made the PS experience unforgettable,

First off, my team mates. Kunal and Harsh, you guys were awesome.

Without you two, i-DRAS would have never seen the light of day.

IMG1710

IMG_20140601_144818

 

 

Thanks girish for being a weird yet fun roomie :-p

IMG_1642

Good luck with Waves, Mr. Mohta the wavy baby.

That's how he woos sponsors
That’s how he woos sponsors

 

Thanks sid for all the trekking trips, without them the weekends would have been a drag.

IMG_0411
foo does love bar 😉

So here’s how a usual trip is planned. Nothing happens till 11 30 pm friday, between 11 30 to 12 30, I get a call from siddhant filling me on the plan, finally “Ok, so you have to come to XYZ place by 6 30 am”  ,”Ok”. Minutes later I call vivek and he tells me the route. So at max I have five hours of sleep, wake up and reach there. Almost certainly I miss both breakfast and lunch.

Was it worth? Hell yeah! That’s the price you pay for living on the bleeding edge 😀

 

Not to mention, thank you, Raghav the explorer and Vivek, may your Mighty Himalayas never be destroyed.

IMG_6952
Vivek

 

Raghav
Raghav

 

Thanks kunjesh for reminding me what being passionate about something was all about.

IMG_0972
Ok, not this..

Thanks to everyone else. for…. well, just being your awesome selves.

Of course, when there are ups, there are bound to be downs….

0. Couldn’t go bungee jumping in Rishikesh, should’ve started a fund-raiser before going there XD

1. Didn’t visit FRI, tapkeshwar, Buddha temple, Tehri Dam or Rajaji National Park

IMG_1094
FRI hallway, courtesy KK

2. Didn’t have Veg. Butter Chicken, can’t believe I missed that!

IMG905
Not even rogan josh, sigh..

3. Twice failed attempts at a train-selfie. Just don’t ask….

Almost....
Almost….

4. Didn’t meet Ruskin Bond. Biggest let down of them all. I was outside his frigging home when he was away.

There were others waiting for his arrival
There were others waiting for his arrival

 

 

There are just way too many things that I would like to thank people for, but I can’t put it down in words.

That’s what happens when you try to compress two months worth of memories in a single blog post. I guess I will have to end it here.

 

Here’s to the most swaggity swag, swagalicious super sexy swaggers of all swagpurs in swagaland.

IMG_20140603_182953
You guys rock!!
Published by

gokul

Hi!, My name is Gokula Krishnan, you can (and I prefer) call me gokul. I'm a third year Computer Science major from BITS Pilani. I'm interested in Technology, Theoretical Computer Science and Discrete Mathematics. A FOSS enthusiast, I'm one of the founders of the BITS Firefox community. I'm currently working on Big Data Analytics, Machine learning and UNIX shell programming. My not-so-geeky hobbies include playing volleyball and football and origami

Leave a Reply

